Build it

Thursday, January 25

I hurt my back last week working out. Nothing crazy, just tweaked it a bit. But I haven’t missed any workouts since. Haven’t missed work. The slightly annoying pain hasn’t prevented me from doing what I want or need to do.

I typically hurt my back once a year or so. Usually from something adventurous and dangerous like reaching for a cup from the cabinet. And it will take me out for a few days. ​One time (many years ago), my wife had to take me to the ER due to the pain and the fact that I couldn’t move. A few strong muscle relaxers and days of rest later and I was good.

So what’s different this time? Why did I recover immediately rather than be out for a few days? I believe it’s because I have built a base of strength from working out nearly every day for the last 18 months (minus a few days from being sick). My body is stronger which means, even though I’m getting older, it is better prepared to deal with adversity. It recovers quicker than it used to.

The same is true in our lives, from our mindset to our leadership to our culture. Too many leaders and teams wait to work on these things until they “need” them. They wait to work on them until they are in the middle of the storm.

Except at that point it’s too late. The adversity and frustration and struggle is too much.

You work to build a resilient mindset before you need it.
You work to build a strong culture before you need it.
You work on your leadership before you’re forced to.

So that when the inevitable storm hits, you might be impacted by it but not taken out by it.

Build it before you need it.

Keep chopping wood. 🪵🪓

-Kevin