Discomfort of Better

Tuesday, February 13

My workout yesterday morning was exhausting. After I was finished, I laid on the ground for a few minutes trying to recover. I was out of breath. My legs felt like they wouldn’t work if I stood up. I laid there, questioning everything in life. It was around 5:45 in the morning.

By the time I got to the office at 8, I felt fine. Not only was I fine, I knew that I was better because of how I felt 2 hours earlier. To be fair, this is how most mornings go. Hard work, struggle, pain, followed by normalcy and confidence.

This is the process of getting better. The problem is that most of us are not willing to sit in the struggle. We are not willing to sit in the suffering. We are not willing to engage in and embrace the difficult work that getting better requires. Forgetting that on the other side of that discomfort is growth and progress.

Instead, we let the Critic win and we settle for comfort. And on the other side of that comfort is frustration that you aren’t where you want to be or who you want to be.

The reality is that both paths contain discomfort. One is the discomfort that leads to growth, the other is the discomfort that leads to bitterness.

Getting better requires that we embrace the discomfort that makes us better.

Keep chopping wood. 🪵🪓

-Kevin

A reminder: if you are a coach, we built THE playbook for your personal and team performance. Get 3 free videos from the Coach Performance Playbook here.