Keep Chopping Wood. Thursday, June 1

Thursday, June 1

If I open Google Maps on my phone and put in the address for our vacation home in Florida last week, it will give me three different routes to get there from my house. Three different ways to get from Point A to Point B, each taking a different length of time. There are more than three, but these are the three Google believes to be the fastest.

I’m free to choose any of the paths to get to my destination. One says it will get me there the fastest, but that isn’t necessarily true. Any number of unexpected events could cause a delay along the way. The slowest path may be the slowest, or it could get me there faster than the others. No matter my direction, I can always make adjustments along the way. The key is to keep the destination in mind.

There are also many paths to your goals. There is no “best” way to be a better leader. There is no “best” way to get healthier. You have options on your path, and everyone else has options. Your journey doesn’t have to be their journey. Some routes may get you to your goals faster; others may take longer. But each option will get you to your destination.

You don’t need the perfect path to get where you want to go and do what you want to do. You must commit to a path, adjust when necessary, and keep moving forward.


Keep chopping wood. 🪵🪓

-Kevin