Limiting Beliefs

Tuesday, April 2

There’s this weird phenomenon with running. If I plan to go out for a 3 mile run, about half way into I start getting tired. My legs start feeling heavy. The last mile feels especially difficult. Finishing feels like a relief.

Yet if I tell myself that I am going out on a 5 mile run, the first 3 miles are not a problem. Once I pass the 3 mile mark, then it starts to feel difficult. The last mile, the pain really kicks in.

What was difficult now feels easier. And not because I got any better or stronger, but because of the story I told myself. Because of the limits I put on myself. Because of the energy I thought I needed.

But the bigger picture is that we are capable of more than we realize. We are stronger than we realize. Difficulty is a perspective and a mindset. Running 3 miles is running 3 miles, no matter if that is the full length of the run or if it is in the middle of the run. Don’t let your mindset limit your potential.

Getting better starts with believing that you’re capable of more.


Keep chopping wood. 🪵🪓

-Kevin