Purposeful Living

Friday, December 22

I’ll be taking a break next week for Christmas then traveling with the OU football team for the Alamo Bowl. The next email you’ll get from me will be in 2024. I can’t thank you enough for reading and sharing these emails. I don’t promote it often online as I prefer it spread organically, but I’ve been sending these daily since February of 2014. Almost 10 years. That you read and share means the world to me. As long as you keep reading, I’ll keep writing in an attempt to serve you.

With that said, a few questions to reflect on 2023 and dream about 2024.

What are you most proud of from the past 12 months? What did you learn about yourself from that moment?

What is the one area where you needed to be better at in 2023? What is your plan to be better in that area for 2024?

How would you rate your level of intentionality in 2023, on a scale of 1-10? Did you hope to be better but ended up just going through the motions? Were you disciplined and consistent? Were you somewhere in between? What is a system you can put in place to be better in 2024?

If you are sitting here 12 months from now, what is one thing that needs to happen for you to consider 2024 a success? What is your plan to make it happen?

The one word philosophy is a popular one around this time of year. I prefer something a little different. A daily mantra. A phrase that calls you up to your best, to spur you on in moments of struggle. Some examples:

“I am resilient.”
“I can do hard things.”
“I have what it takes.”
“I am confident.”
“I add value when I show up."

What will be your daily mantra for 2024? Write it down. Put it as a reminder in your phone to pop up several times a day. You won’t change your actions until you change your thinking.

You can’t keep going through days without stopping and paying attention to your thoughts and your habits. To do so is to neglect your potential and your influence. Reflection is a powerful tool as it often leads to increased awareness and a change in action. It can allow you to finish 2023 and begin 2024 on purpose, but it must also be a common practice to gauge where you are.

May the coming year be your best year yet. It won’t happen on accident. Commit and do the work. Let’s run after it on purpose.


Keep chopping wood. 🪵🪓

-Kevin