Traits for success

Friday, January 19

I’ve been fortunate to spend a lot of time around incredibly successful people in various industries. And I’m often asked what I think the most important trait of successful people is. The answer, I believe, may surprise you.

Most of the successful people I’ve been around aren’t particularly more skilled than others in their profession. Yes, they care about their craft and work to get better at it, but they are skills that anyone can acquire.

I also haven’t found them to be significantly more intelligent, charismatic, or organized than others. They don’t have any unique routines or formulas for winning.

What I’ve found that successful people have significantly more of is confidence. They have an unwavering belief that things will work out and they will find a way forward. They’re human, so they have moments of doubt, but when everybody else is ready to throw in the towel, they find another gear of confidence to tap into.

And because of this, they find a way. They believe there is a solution, that no problem is rocket science, and that if they work hard enough for long enough, they’ll find a way forward.

The good news is that this mindset is available to all of us. We can replace worry, fear, doubt, uncertainty, and insecurity with confidence and belief.

And if we want to get better, if we want to move forward, if we want to make progress, then it’s the only option. Because while doubt finds a way out, belief always finds a way forward.


Keep chopping wood. 🪵🪓

-Kevin

My next book is almost ready and I would love to get some feedback. If you are interested in bringing some critique (it will take you about an hour to read the book), please fill out this form. I’ll send you a PDF of the book to read over and send me your notes.