Want vs Work

Tuesday, February 6

Most leaders I work with say they want to be better leaders.
Most athletes I work with say they want to be better athletes.
Most teams I work with say they want to be better teams.

You’ve probably said the same. “I want to be better.”

The question I ask them, and the question I’m asking you, is “What are you doing to get better?”

That’s usually where silence sets in. The reality is that most are doing what they’ve always done. And we know the definition of insanity, right?

We can say we want something, but our actions reveal our priorities. Show me your calendar and your bank account and I’ll show you what’s important to you. Hopes won’t get you anywhere. Wants won’t get you anywhere. If you don’t have a plan that you are taking action on, you’ll be stuck in the same place a year from now.

If you aren’t investing in getting better, you aren’t getting better. If you want it, work for it.


Keep chopping wood. 🪵🪓

-Kevin

A heads up for coaches: we have something new coming for you this week. A playbook to unlock your leadership health, help you develop an elite staff, and help you build a championship culture. Don’t miss the announcement when it happens in the BETTER newsletter. Get it here.